In (And Out) Like a Lamb…Lion in the Middle?

So. Yes. March was snowy, but that fact seems far removed from the melty ice piles, greenery beginning to grow, and the warm temps bringing the longboarders, couples, and sandals outside. Sneaking up on the Luther College campus, Spring Break marked the end of the first 8 weeks of semester – on the back side of break, professors are facing crunch time grading homework (they assigned it!) while students are madly crunching through homework and seniors are desperately attempting to finish their papers before the deadline.

But, back to March. There’s that old saying that March, if it comes in like a lamb, it’ll go out like a lion…by my observations, it came and went like a lamb – both the first and the last day of March were nice, calm weather days, albeit busy with activities. In between…that’s a different matter. Nearly every Monday or Tuesday (even during break) brought a new wave of storms, keeping my adjunct flute professor from coming to campus two consecutive weeks. (I’m not going to complain…) Stories abounded of professors, students, faculty, and community members falling on slick ice formed by storms melting during the day and freezing over night, even though the grounds crew worked really hard to keep sidewalks clear. After despairing at another winter without skiing, I skied across campus several times, getting lots of fun remarks when the sidewalks weren’t clear until midday, and students saw my tracks. I even introduced my roommate, a snowshoer, to new paths one afternoon!

I also attended 9 music events, 6 lectures/talking events (including Bob Larsen’s last directed play), took a trip to Cedar Falls with a couple classes to a feminist lecture that had been postponed (oops – I guess we’ll have supper?), got hired as a First Year Immersion Trip leader, and wrote several letters to friends not on campus.

Following the mob of Letters to the Editor of Chips this past month, as the Luther community discusses the ongoing search process for our new president, I will write my two cents here. I’m told other colleges have a completely closed search process; ours is quasi open. There might be “blame” on all sides – Search Committee, Dr. Hagerott, the students/faculty, newspapers/media – but it doesn’t matter. Yes, on the whole I believe mistakes were made, but I’m not in the search process directly. I critique others complaining about the process, especially those who speak also from the outside. We collectively messed up, and Luther’s reputation will suffer for that, but our community’s resolve to learn from mistakes should cover both the image and our search in the future. If Dr. Hagerott isn’t to be our new president, I’m sure we’ll find someone who will.

I had an increase in papers due this month, and I began researching for two presentations; one I presented the day after break and the other in about a month. AAAH! But the real rub is how my classes (Feminist Philosophy, Environmental Philosophy, Social and Cultural Change, and to a lesser degree Anthropological Theory) is changing my perspective on the lifestyle I want to live. As one friend put it, Luther just creates a mob of “liberal radicals.” I’m one of those liberal radicals now.

About landje03

A passionate outdoor educator, I hold a degree in anthropology. While not a salaried academic, I pursue various thoughts stemming from my experiences and their intersections with others' experiences. I also love to start conversations, so comment if anything tickles your fancy.
Video | This entry was posted in Relationships, Stories, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In (And Out) Like a Lamb…Lion in the Middle?

  1. I simply want to tell you that I am beginner to weblog and definitely enjoyed you’re web site. More than likely I’m going to bookmark your website . You really come with incredible writings. Thanks a bunch for sharing with us your blog.

Leave a Reply

