April Showers of Rain, Snow, and Work!

April 2nd was the day the first mourning doves cooed outside Luther dorms. Exactly one month later, we had a great big snowstorm. Regardless, there were bright sunny days and cloudy days, chilly days and warm days, dry days and lovely rainy or snowy (followed by two mini-floods). April encapsulated all the climates of a year in Iowa into 30 days, along with a major holiday (April Fool’s Day), anniversaries (my farm’s neighbor’s 50th!), and the normal rigamarole of campus activities.

This month was hard-core recital month – 13 performances! Among the stressful number of tests, papers, presentations (2 from me), I fit in working out (less frequently than desired), special meals with friends, extracurricular research, a dance party, bouldering and slacklining off campus, a 5k run (got covered with colored corn starch), and volunteered one snowy Saturday (Spring Fling) to help two elderly households with spring chores. Classes resumed after Spring Break on April 2nd, which also signaled the true addition of one more class, for which I gave up 3 hours one Sunday afternoon. After stressing over next year’s classes, I registered myself and a friend in a spare two minutes one ridiculously hectic Tuesday…and with that preparatory step over, I am working on a proposal for my senior project. April was probably my hardest academic month ever.

Decorah’s 6 pm siren just went off – back to the grindstone for a few more days before finals!

About landje03

A passionate outdoor educator, I hold a degree in anthropology. While not a salaried academic, I pursue various thoughts stemming from my experiences and their intersections with others' experiences. I also love to start conversations, so comment if anything tickles your fancy.
This entry was posted in Relationships, Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to April Showers of Rain, Snow, and Work!

  1. emilyramos says:

    Hey, Jess! Your video made me seriously homesick for Luther! It sounds like you’re keeping really busy!

    • landje03 says:

      Hey Emily! Yep – the old Luther campus is moving and shaking with the entrance of warm weather. ūüôā Commencement activities are around the corner, and the lab’s freaking out with end-of-year exhibits!

  2. I quite enjoy the video! Especially the flute playing and bird’s singing!

Leave a Reply

