May We Have Transition?

 

The last month on campus are blurry memories. Classes pulled twists that intrigued me; for example, feminist philosophy took the class to the human dissection lab. Later in the month, I balanced the very real stress of finalizing projects, papers, and goodbyes to graduating seniors and friends with the visceral joy of budding greens and flowers, warm weather and inviting runs around the trails. Most of my friends stayed through commencement to wind music around the formal ceremonies of leaving for professors, college president, and seniors. Thus, I lived in a packing frenzy unshared by my roommates.

Upon arriving home, I continued balancing the forces of stressful weather, working for my parents, and crafting a proposal for my senior project and report for one of my semester-long projects. It’s funny how such school-like activities get so much harder when I leave the context of campus. Since the beginning of May, my focus has shifted from classes and the simple joy of being outside to farming conditions and working outside to the intentional living in community with my co-staff at Camp Amnicon. Reviewing all the videos and pictures from the last month has set me in a rather reminiscent mood, as I cherish the memories of the past academic year. I enjoyed being a junior, and I’m looking forward to being a senior!

About landje03

A passionate outdoor educator, I hold a degree in anthropology. While not a salaried academic, I pursue various thoughts stemming from my experiences and their intersections with others' experiences. I also love to start conversations, so comment if anything tickles your fancy.
This entry was posted in Relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

