#Winnebagross

As an after-graduation trip, I attempted to go backpacking in central Iowa. One problem – backpackers need ample clean water access for survival and central Iowa has a serious pollution problem in all the water. My fellow ‘packer and I revamped our plans to account for the pollution problem accumulated through modern conventional city life and agriculture. Over the next two days, we biked 13.5 and canoed 19 miles – more than we expected. Detailed maps are important, we learned. We ended up canoeing the Winnebago River Water Trail. On the one hand, we saw ample evidence of many people’s efforts to prepare the trail for people’s use; on the other hand, the water is disgustingly polluted with chemicals and dead, bloated turtles.

Between that trip and my summer job, I’m spending a week renewing one of my guide certifications, volunteering, and serving as maid of honor for my housemates’ wedding.

My next step, as a BA in Anthropology, is to work on the farm on which I grew up, as farm crew for an operational Community Supported Agriculture farm. In mid-September, I move to southern California to work for an outdoor science school for the academic year while completing another round of the job search. To be clear, the one-year position was my choice and was not dictated to me by the offers I received.

About landje03

A passionate outdoor educator, I hold a degree in anthropology. While not a salaried academic, I pursue various thoughts stemming from my experiences and their intersections with others' experiences. I also love to start conversations, so comment if anything tickles your fancy.
This entry was posted in Relationships, Updates and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #Winnebagross

  1. Pingback: Objects | Nouns, Stories, and Relationships

Leave a Reply

