San Bernardino Mountains

1004150807  

About two months ago, I moved to southern California. My anthropology degree and interest in outdoor education led me to a job as an outdoor science school instructor. California has a law that 6th graders must spend one week outside the cities, outdoors, and learning about science. I get to teach some of them. I’m enjoying life in the San Bernardino Mountains. 

0925153321

I live in the San Bernardino National Forest. I live in a high desert/temperate forest, filled with black oaks, Ponderosa pines, Jeffrey pines, white fir, manzanita, and mesquite. Rabbitbush and sagebrush can be found, but the latter is rarer. California ground squirrels, coyotes, Stellar’s jays, Western Chickadees, and saw-whet owls are some of the animals around here.

0915174219

I teach science to 5th to 6th graders, 10 to 12 year olds. I rotate between working evenings with a cabin full of girls and working days with a group of mixed gender students. I’m learning the lesson plans – anything from mammals, birds, decomposers, plants, snakes, geology, environmental awareness, astronomy, nocturnal adaptations, to line dancing and large-group games!

Soon I will be uploading a post I am in the midst of writing for work. I researched crepuscular animals of southern California!

About landje03

A passionate outdoor educator, I hold a degree in anthropology. While not a salaried academic, I pursue various thoughts stemming from my experiences and their intersections with others' experiences. I also love to start conversations, so comment if anything tickles your fancy.
This entry was posted in Stories, Updates and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

