Updates on Posts

Looking back at last year’s posts, I have a couple of updates providing continued conversation with certain topics.

Regarding “Shifting Attitudes Toward Business” and “Black Friday”: This week I started working as a mechanic for the Upper Midwest’s largest bike shop company. Throughout the hiring process, my two weeks of training, and my first shift, I conclude that my current company – a multi-state corporation – is the kind of business balancing valuing profit with caring for employees. My managers actively maintain social relationships with their employees, implicitly endorsing a work-life balance. The employees express pleasure in being at work and spend time together outside of work. I haven’t heard anything about profit targets, yet my first shift included my first “performance target”: a task or challenge to better myself. The company has invested heavily in me through online lessons and practicum training, all of which comes with a training bonus. In other words, my current employer, capitalist though it may be, expresses alternative attitudes toward business.

Regarding “A New Commute”:  I also work for Outward Bound during the warmer months. I dislike my commute to my base, the commute I proposed to change in the linked post. Well, I will have to change my route to work later this year, as my base moves to a new location! The quickest route to the new location automatically runs through the largest park in my neighborhood – the path winds around a lake, is bordered by flowering trees and shrubs, and passes by a waterfall and beautiful old buildings. I am very excited about my new commute!

About landje03

A passionate outdoor educator, I hold a degree in anthropology. While not a salaried academic, I pursue various thoughts stemming from my experiences and their intersections with others' experiences. I also love to start conversations, so comment if anything tickles your fancy.
This entry was posted in Relationships, Updates and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

