Friendly Commute Map!

Another update on the idea that our commutes should be pleasant and safe:

A bike shop owner told me today about Cyclopath. This is an open source project based in the University of Minnesota – Twin Cities that provides bikers/non-car travelers alternative routes. The project uses a Geowiki platform, and users can input information as they experience it on the ground; the website will incorporate that information rapidly for other users’ benefit. When I explored it a tiny bit this evening, I found the map portion malfunctioning, but I was told that the website is extremely useful. There are options to explore established routes, or plan a trek along the fastest or friendliest routes or use established paths in the commute. I’ll look into the website another day to explore how to change up my established paths.

What are your regions’ alternatives to common mapping apps like Google Maps? What resources in your communities could you tap to learn of alternative routes?

About landje03

A passionate outdoor educator, I hold a degree in anthropology. While not a salaried academic, I pursue various thoughts stemming from my experiences and their intersections with others' experiences. I also love to start conversations, so comment if anything tickles your fancy.
This entry was posted in Nouns, Relationships and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

